Skip to main content
English French German Italian Spanish

Front wheel 'sticking' on a 1976 Mk III Commando

Forums

I'm new to all this so please excuse any daft newbie questions.

I have a 1976 Mk III 850 Commando which just failed its MOT because the guy said the front wheel wasn't spinning freely.

He's right - it doesn't move round with just the pressure from a single finger and it makes a sound as if it's rubbing against something.

It could be a build up of salt perhaps - I live in Scotland where they salt the roads at the slightest hint of cold weather. Or it could be something to do with the front brake.

Before I look into it I wondered whether anyone had had a similar experience and what the remedy is. Failing that is there someone you might recommend in the Glasgow area who could take a look at it and fix it?

I'm keen to get the bike MOT'd and get back out on the road so any help or advice is gratefully appreciated.

Many thanks,

Dominic

I would strip and clean the brake caliper. Being not that far from you, I can vouch for the vast quantities of salt dumped on our roads - so often needlessly. The brake caliper will always need a clean before the MoT. Trust me on that! My bike is manky - I have been using it this week, salt notwithstanding. Gordon.

Previously wrote:

I would strip and clean the brake caliper. Being not that far from you, I can vouch for the vast quantities of salt dumped on our roads - so often needlessly. The brake caliper will always need a clean before the MoT. Trust me on that! My bike is manky - I have been using it this week, salt notwithstanding. Gordon.

Many thanks Gordon. I will take a look at that and see if I can sort it. Kind regards, Dominic

Make sure that the disc is clear of the fork leg. There is not normaly much clearance there. My disc is within about 0.015" of the slider. (But the wheel is in the centre of the forks)