Skip to main content
English French German Italian Spanish

Early Atlas engine in 1970 Commando

Forums

Hi,

I recently bought a 1970 roadster which needs a lot of work to get back on the road. To speed things up and as the engine needs a complete rebuild.

Could I tempararily fit an early Atlas engine I have, which has been completely refurbished?

I am not an engineer and do not have access to a machine shop.

I'm thinking that some of the mountings won't match up, hence the question for the experts.

Thanks Keith

Dear Keith,

It's been done before so not too much of a job, Engine should fit in cradle OK, but there are 2 Areas that will need some work. As engine is now tilted I doubt that bolt holes for primary chaincase will line up so you could offer up commando case as use as a template to start drilling; thread is 1/4 whit I think, but if you are not a purist any 1/4 or 6mm thread would do. depends what you have taps for. There is a danger of swarf entering crankcase doing this so apply grease to tapping drill when nearly through so bits stick.

Other area to mod will be top mount, Is your Atlas head the one with large single bolt and oil feeds on top ? If so you will need to nodify commando top mount to fit, assuming you have early type rather than later box section one it should not be difficult to drill large hole and saw off sides where they foul oil pipes.

Don't worry about damaging this type of mount they are rubbish/ most have been welded as they crack. Look out for a box section one when you replace original engine. If you are near Doncaster I can lend you some Taps.

regards Martin