Skip to main content
English French German Italian Spanish

1955 ES2

Forums

I have been seeking a rear mudguard for a 1955 ES2 for around 5 years

The bike I have was a BITSA but I have managed to track down all the missing original parts, apart from the seat, which I understand can be made by Leightons, and the rear mudguard.

Talking to knowledgable folk about the mudguard situation at jumbles, I have been given the same story by a number of people. It goes something like this....

Sucking of teeth and the words "Hens teeth, Rocking horse ****, a virgin in Luton, a free round in Glasgow"

I have been told that the mudguard was specific to that year, typical, with indentations for the rear shocks, and medium depth valance. Can anyone confirm this tale of woe?

I have considered using a featherbed frame one, suitably modified, but not sure if this is possible, or just an expensive waste of time.

So, any advice sought, any suggestions welcomed and.....in my dreams, anyone who has one in their shed? :o)

Paul

Paul - I dont know where you are but mine is a 1955 ES2 if you want to have a look - I'm in Cambridge.RegardsCharles

Thanks Charles, I am in Bedfordshire so wouldn't be difficult to get over to you. perhaps you could email me your contact details to p.d.gooch@btinternet.com and I can then contact you if I need some measurements and photographs to have one made up.

Paul

Thanks Charles, I am in Bedfordshire so wouldn't be difficult to get over to you. perhaps you could email me your contact details to p.d.gooch@btinternet.com and I can then contact you if I need some measurements and photographs to have one made up.

Paul

Hi Paul,