Skip to main content
English French German Italian Spanish

1939 ES2 exhaust

Forums

Hello there,

So as I said before I'm new to the classic scene and am finding it both frustrating and rewarding at the same time. Bikes up and running great news only to find that the exhaust has blown along the seem at the bottom. So it's chromed at present and once I find someone who could do it (which is a challenge in itself) what's the best advice re stainless route or following the traditional route ie chrome. ( someone said that today's chromeing is not as good as yesteryear and tends to flake on exhausts true or not no idea). If I go stainless I'll need the down pipe as well if not poss just the silencer. It's a 1939 ES2 with what's called cows udders for a silencer I understand. There is a pic in the members gallery if your unsure about the udders lol. I look forward to the debate

Mark

The cows udder is a rare thing, and I suspect the chances of replacing it like for like are close to zero. No chance whatsoever of choosing between stainless and chrome.I wonder how many exist? All the journo's have always been so rude about them that they've pretty much all been replaced...If it were mine I'd deny my sense of the aesthetic and try and get it refurbished!

I have never seen this exhaust for sale in any material and if you were to find a new one, I would take it in mild or stainless steel. Should you come across a supplier, I would be interested to know as this question has come up before now and we have never been able to advise on where to go for this item.

I would recommend keeping it if you can, revolting as it is although strangely charming at the same time. Rather like the reviled Commando Hi-Rider, we all need some examples out there or they will be lost forever.

Your bike might even feature Norton's other great invention for 1938/39 - the forward folding 'suicide' stand. Their designers were in a strange mood that year.