Skip to main content
English French German Italian Spanish

1935 Es2 front rim size /make?

Forums

I have just had a look at my wheel rims (which are painted black)and the front one has Jones wm3 stamped on it.I can't see anything on the rear due to thick paint.The tyre size is 325x19 on both.Is this this correct size rim as I have seen differing explanations on the correct size.They do look to be original.Your thoughts on this would be much appreciated.Thanks.Nick.

Looking at the date of this post, I assume you sorted it elsewhere ? As far as I am aware, rims were WM2 front and rear. The pre-war ES2 I am working on had WM3s, but they weren't original. I remember when I started riding in the late '70's early '80's, a lot of riders thought that putting wider rims/tyres on their bikes was the way to go. So many of the bikes we're working on now aren't original.

Previously tony_baxter wrote:

Looking at the date of this post, I assume you sorted it elsewhere ? As far as I am aware, rims were WM2 front and rear. The pre-war ES2 I am working on had WM3s, but they weren't original. I remember when I started riding in the late '70's early '80's, a lot of riders thought that putting wider rims/tyres on their bikes was the way to go. So many of the bikes we're working on now aren't original.

Hi Tony, no I haven't been sorted yet so thanks for reply.You say that you had wm3 rims too.As stated mine does two and I still think they seem original.I did find out that both Dunlop and Jones rims were fitted to Prewar nortons with the Jones type rarer of the 2 and quite sort after and those are the ones I have on mine.What makes you think that yours aren't original?It seems a bit of a coincidence that we both have the same size.Regards Nick.