Skip to main content
English French German Italian Spanish

Rusty Fuel Tank on 1959 Model 50

Forums

Probably a subject that has been discussed a lot, but please bear with me, I'm new to the game. The petrol tank from my bike is due to be shot blasted and powder coated but the painter has raised the issue of internal rust. Although the tank doesn't leak there is a rust problem that needs addressing. The guy rebuilding my engine ( a very experienced restorer who has had bikes on the front of Classic Bike) is very much against tank sealers as he claims they ultimately disintegrate and cause carburation issues. Other people I've talked to fully endorse the use of tak sealants. Which way do I jump ?

If I don't go for a sealer then how do I combat the rust ?

If I do go for a sealer, which one ? Old Bike Mart has a number of advertisers (Tank Care products, Tank Cure from LB Restoration Services, Petseal, Tapox). So my quetion is: Sealer or No Sealer ? If Sealer, which one ? If No Sealer, what other solution ?

Many thanks in advance for any useful input.

Mike

Mike. You have to combat the rust which ever course you take. You cannot line a tank without first ensuring that it is totally rust, grease, dirt and of course petrol free. If the rust is loose and flaky you need first to remove that. A method often used is to put a large handful of old nuts and bolts into the tank, and shake it every way you can until all the loose rust has become displaced, then carefully empty it.

My preferred method for the next stage is to convert the rust, by using a phosphoric acid solution, which is readily available to purchase on-line, if not locally. Google it and you will find a choice, no doubt with instructions.