Skip to main content
English French German Italian Spanish

1959 Dominator 88 wet sump

Forums

Hi I'm relatively new to the norton owners club and have had my bike only 6 months,had a couple of issues recently with fuel starvation & then the crankcase breather witch thanks to you guys I sorted out,However I undid the sump plug tonight and Nearly a 1 litre came out ! Have I got a major problem is it a new oil pump job is this a big job ? Some people fit Velocette anti wet sump valves I only trust this club so any advice please regards rob

Mr Jones, now you've started something!

Lots of info on this site about wet sumping, lots of differing opinions. Some fit valves, some fit taps, others advocate refurbishing the oil pump and so on. My 99 will wetsump a litre over four weeks or so, I usually drain off the sump if it's been standing for two weeks and get about a half litre. Whether a litre is excessive really depends over what time frame it has been left.

I find using straight 50 and leaving the pistons on the compression stroke significantly slows the wet sumping and when I drain the oil I tip it back into the tank. Others may leave it to splash feed the bottom end on start-up but if you do that it's probably a good idea to put a tray under the breather first!

Previously jones_jones wrote:

Hi I'm relatively new to the norton owners club and have had my bike only 6 months,had a couple of issues recently with fuel starvation & then the crankcase breather witch thanks to you guys I sorted out,However I undid the sump plug tonight and Nearly a 1 litre came out ! Have I got a major problem is it a new oil pump job is this a big job ? Some people fit Velocette anti wet sump valves I only trust this club so any advice please regards rob

Previously jones_jones wrote: