Skip to main content
English French German Italian Spanish

850 Commando smoking on left cylinder

Forums

Hi all,

Can anyone help out on this problem.I recently bought a Commando 850 thatsmokes on the left cylinder only

The smoke is blue so i think oil is getting in the cylinder,I disconnectedthe rocker feed and took her out for a few miles and the smoke stopped almostcompletely so I suspected the problem was in the head not the bores.next usingthe rope trick I fitted a new valve stem oil seal to the left cylinder,took thebike out and the smoke has reduced a little,but not as much as when the feedwas disconnected.the valves and guides seem quite good,can anyone think how theoil is entering could it be from the pushrod tube past the head gasket anyideas at all would help

Thanks Steve

Hi Stephen, I'm a novice to these engines, however if fitting new oil seal(I'm assuming to inlet only) semi cured the problem; does this not suggest that both valve guides are worn on that side and some oil is still going down the exhaust valve guide.

The left hand cylinder has the most to deal with if a bike has been standing on the side-stand but if there is oil coming from the head and it isn't between valve and guide then there is a good chance that the guide is loose in the head. This is not exactly unknown on Commando engines and the only cure is to remove the head and fit an oversize guide.

Thanks for the replies,the inlet valve does not appear to be loose or suffering from wear the old valve stem seal was quite slack on the valve.the new one is a nice tight fit,so i will do the rope trick again and check the exhaust guide for wear will keep you updated any one else any ideas

regards Steve