Skip to main content
English French German Italian Spanish

New 1958 Nomad owner

Forums

Hello Norton Owners:

I am new to the NOC and would like to introduce myself.

I am a long time Brit bike owner living in the USA. My brother had been a Matchless dealer in the sixties so my energies have been directed towards Matchless and AJS models for some years. I do own a number of Hybrids one of which is an Atlas powered version.

I have just acquired a basket case Nomad project. Actually it is almost two basket Nomads, but it appears that one has a 1957 77 Motor.

I am missing a great many parts and it is going to be a challenging restoration.

From the little bit of reading I have done it would appear that the Nomad shares the same problems I have had with some of my other AMC machines, it was a US only export and production numbers are fairly low.

I will admit that I know very little about Nortons and especially Nomads. My brother helps with restorations and he is more knowledgeable than I as he currently has three P11s. However, he has never seen a Nomad before.

I would appreciate any advice and help that club members may be able to offer.

The frame and engine number on my bike is 79002 which I do believe correspond to 1958.

I am going to be on the hunt for parts as I am missing a great many. Among some of my first questions would be of the inter-changability between the Nomad and other models. For instance, I am lacking primary cases, but am thinking other models shared?

Sorry for such a lengthy first post.

Thank you!

[Attached is a picture of the project as acquired - Parts and pieces!

Oh my...]

Rick Taylor

Attachments dsc03811-jpg.jpg

Hi Rick, welcome to the message boards. Thats some project you've got there. Can't help you with your questions myself, but a quick search of these hallowed pages throws up some interesting discussions on the Nomad. I'm sure some more clued-up folk will be along soon.

Good luck!

Previously martin_rowe wrote: